Getting Car Insurance Without a License: 3 Smart Steps

If you’re wondering, “Where can I get insurance without a license?”, you’ve come to the right place. Learn this answer to this question and more.
Get a Free Quote
where can i get insurance without a license

Written by Brian Greenberg
CEO / Founder & Licensed Insurance Agent

Last updated: January 10th, 2023

Reviewed by Grant Desselle
Licensed Insurance Agent

To legally drive a car, there’s a lot of paperwork needed, like registration, insurance, and most importantly, a driver’s license. If you’re missing even one of these, you’re looking at fines, possible jail time, or even lawsuits if you were to get into an accident without them.

On the other hand, you don’t actually need a driver’s license to own a car — you just can’t drive it. However, unless your vehicle is stored in a garage and is never driven, you do need insurance coverage for it. But where can I get insurance without a license?

Why Would I Need Auto Insurance Without a License?

Before we answer, “Where can I get insurance without a license?”, let’s first take a look at why you may even need this. There are many reasons that a person might get insurance even when they don’t have a driver’s license, ranging from medical issues to legal troubles. What’s important to know is that any vehicle that you own, if it’s going to be driven by anyone, must have insurance on it. These are some of the most common reasons for buying auto insurance without a license.

You Can’t Drive Yourself

Many people are unable to drive themselves due to age or medical conditions that make operating a vehicle unsafe. These people may have family members or paid chauffeurs drive them around using their vehicle, in which case they will still need auto insurance even though they don’t have a driver’s license.

You Only Have a Learners Permit

Most states allow teenagers as young as 14 or 15 to drive a vehicle before getting a driver’s license. Typically this happens after the driver has passed a written test demonstrating that they know the rules of the road and allows them to get some practice before taking the actual driving test. These young drivers still need to insure their vehicle, even if they don’t yet have a driver’s license.

Required age for learner's permit eligibility

StateMinimum age (years)
Arizona15 and 6 months
California15 and 6 months
Colorado 15
Hawaii15 and 6 months
Idaho14 and 6 months
Michigan14 and 8 months
Montana14 and 6 months
Nevada15 and 6 months
New Hampshire15 and 6 months
New Jersey16
New Mexico15
New York16
North Carolina15
North Dakota14 and 6 months
Ohio15 and 6 months
Oklahoma15 and 6 months
Rhode Island16
South Carolina15
South Dakota14
Virginia15 and 6 months
West Virginia15

You Need Insurance for a Car in Storage

Homeowner’s insurance policies typically do not cover vehicles, primarily because vehicles are very expensive compared to the other items that are insured under a household policy. If your car is in storage and you don’t have a license, you won’t need liability or collision insurance, but you’ll still want comprehensive coverage for your vehicle to protect it against vandalism, theft, fires, and natural disasters.

Your License is Suspended

Your driver’s license can be revoked for six months to a year in many states as a punishment for too many moving violations, driving without insurance, or driving under the influence. Those states typically require a driver’s insurance company to file an SR-22 form, which indicates that the driver has purchased a policy that meets the state’s minimum insurance requirements and that there have been no lapses in coverage. Even if a driver doesn’t own a car, filing an SR-22 is often a condition of getting their license reinstated.

Getting No License Car Insurance

Not all insurance companies provide coverage for unlicensed drivers, but many do, so if you’re wondering whether you can get car insurance without a license, it pays to shop around. When buying a policy, there are a few things you can do to make it clear that you won’t be driving the vehicle. However, since this is a somewhat unusual situation, it’s usually better to run a free quote with an auto insurance agency who can walk you through your options.

State Who the Primary Driver of the Vehicle Will Be

As you do not have a driver’s license and will not be driving the vehicle, your insurance company will need to assess the premiums for liability coverage on another driver’s record. When picking a policy, carefully consider who will be doing most of the driving with your car and whether they are considered a safe driver.

Get Yourself Listed as an Excluded Driver

When you purchase car insurance, it’s assumed that you will be the primary driver on the policy and that you might add other drivers in your household. The premium price is determined by your driving record, but you’re not actually required to be a driver on your policy. You can exclude yourself or any member of your household that won’t be driving the insured vehicle. This could be useful in a situation where you own a car but need someone else to drive it for you.

Choose Parked Car Insurance

Perhaps you don’t have a driver’s license and you own a vintage car that gets trailered and taken to car shows or maybe you have a car that isn’t operational right now. You should still buy coverage for these vehicles to protect them from vandalism, theft, fires, or natural disasters. When purchased alongside liability and collision insurance, this is usually called comprehensive coverage. However, if you’re buying coverage for these vehicles without those other types of insurance or even a driver’s license, it’s sometimes called parked car insurance. This is considerably cheaper than liability and collision insurance but usually requires the car to be stored off-street in a garage or parking area.

Can You Buy a Car Without a Driver’s License?

There’s no law stating that you can’t buy a car without a license, but in practice, it’s quite difficult. Dealers won’t allow you to test drive a car without a license and you’ll need someone with a license to drive it off the lot or have the vehicle delivered by the dealership.

How Can I Register a Car With No License?

In most states, you do not need to have a driver’s license to register a vehicle. What’s important is that you are a resident of the county where you’re attempting to register the vehicle, which you can prove with utility bills, a voter registration card, or bank statements. All but a few states require proof of insurance before they will register your vehicle.

Where Can I Get the Cheapest Car Insurance Without a License?

It’s time to answer, “Where can I get insurance without a license?”. The major auto insurance companies are much less likely to provide no license car insurance. You’re better off going with a local or regional agent that has more leeway when writing your policy. If you purchase insurance from a nationwide company like Progressive or Geico, you might want to add someone with a license to the policy as the primary driver.

Mercury Insurance$65/mo
Liberty Mutual $33/mo

Get the most accurate rates in 2 minutes or less
Making a financial decision doesn’t have to be stressful.
Our online approach makes it fast and easy.

Find The Best Policy
Find The Best Policy